Quantcast

Newbie with a few questions...

HomeBrewTalk.com - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Community.

Help Support Homebrew Talk:

BeerGeek4ND

Reaction score
Hi, I'm new to Home brewing and recently started my first session using the BB Irish Stout kit. After doing research I've already found a few answers but I have one that I can't seem to get a straight answer.

Background info, I'm not racking to a secondary, reading that it's not necessary especially on a stout. But I would like to add a pint of vanilla infused whiskey to half the batch. My main question is it alright to simply add the whiskey to the last half of the batch in the bottling process? Basically starting with the full amount of priming sugar needed for 5 gallons, bottle half then add the whiskey and bottle the last part. Am I going to run into issues with over carb, and potential bottle bombs? Or will it be alright?

And if this won't work is there any issues with simply rack half the batch to a secondary, when bottling the other half? Basically I measure out the amount of priming sugar for 2.5 gallons. Transfer the first half the batch to a secondary, without sugar, add whiskey. Seal back up and let it sit for another week or so. Then go back and bottle the other half using only 2.5 gallons amount of priming sugar for it. Then later do that same process when bottling the whiskey infused stout later.

Hopefully this all makes sense. Any insight is very appreciated and welcome. Thanks. :mug:

BrewMasta

Reaction score