Newbie to electric brewing

HomeBrewTalk.com - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Community.

Help Support Homebrew Talk:

shemp

Supporting Member
HBT Supporter
Joined
Sep 13, 2011
Messages
116
Reaction score
13
Location
poplar grove
I'm about to go electric and am confused on my 240v power supply. I have a 240v outlet that was supposed to be used for a welder that I never purchased. It's being fed by 2 60 amp cb's in my garage subpanel. The building has a concrete floor. I thought this would automatically be gfci since it's on the ground and concrete. Is that wrong? Maybe only if it's a kitchen?? I don't see a test button on the breakers.

Thanks
 

doug293cz

BIABer, Beer Math Nerd, ePanel Designer, Pilot
Staff member
Mod
Lifetime Supporter
Joined
May 14, 2014
Messages
11,257
Reaction score
7,389
Location
Renton
I'm about to go electric and am confused on my 240v power supply. I have a 240v outlet that was supposed to be used for a welder that I never purchased. It's being fed by 2 60 amp cb's in my garage subpanel. The building has a concrete floor. I thought this would automatically be gfci since it's on the ground and concrete. Is that wrong? Maybe only if it's a kitchen?? I don't see a test button on the breakers.

Thanks
If there is no "Test" button, then they are not GFCI breakers. You will need to change the breakers or use a spa panel in front of your control panel.

Current code requires GFCI protection for outdoor and garage outlets (in addition to kitchens and bathrooms.)

Brew on :mug:
 

jddevinn

Got 99 Problems but beer ain't one
HBT Supporter
Joined
Feb 14, 2010
Messages
1,410
Reaction score
548
Location
Concord
It will probably not be GFCI for a welder, definitely not if it doesn't have a test. You could add a spa panel inline.
 
OP
shemp

shemp

Supporting Member
HBT Supporter
Joined
Sep 13, 2011
Messages
116
Reaction score
13
Location
poplar grove
I had the shop (actually a hangar) built 3 years ago. Wonder if I can go back to the electrician for some retro since it should be gfci
 

GreatBeerTour

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jun 7, 2016
Messages
50
Reaction score
9
Location
San Diego
Avoid "should"
I'm sure the guy was doing good work for a fair price-
Jot down the brand and amperage and head down to the local big box store for a replacement GFI breaker- the work is simple to do. But if you are unsure in any way- call the guy and have him do the swap.
With 60amps x 2 you can flash fry a buffalo in two minutes
 

LarMoeCur

Well-Known Member
Joined
Dec 29, 2006
Messages
1,044
Reaction score
264
Location
Las Vegas, NV
I found it cheaper to buy a spa panel and take the breaker out it and put it in my panel. Single Eaton 50a gcfi breaker at Box store $99. Eaton Spa panel with the identical 50a breaker inside of it $54. I'm not sure how that works but it does.
 
Top