Newbie questions

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Tomokka

Reaction score
Hey all!

I am a beginner in brewing beer and was wondering if the members of this forum could answer a few questions for me. I have currently bottled one batch and the second one has been fermenting for about a week.

The first question relates to the batch i have already bottled. It was a muntons nut brown ale extract kit. I replaced sugar with 1 kilogram (2,2 pounds) of muntons dark spray malt. For yeast i used Safale S-04 dry yeast (11,5 grams). I let it ferment in primary for 3 weeks before bottling it. Fermentatiton temperature was about 72 degrees.
The beer has been in a bottle for about 2 weeks now and i have tried it twice. The problem with it is that the taste and aroma are very yeasty. I am not sure if this is because the beer is still too "green" or because there was something wrong with the procedure. The one thing that did go wrong was that I piched the yeast when the wort was a bit too hot (about 84 degrees).

The second question relates to how i should move forward from here. In the future i will hope to make a complete switch to all grain, but i wanna still devolop the basic skills with extracts. I was wondering what people thought about pre hopped kits? As i understand you shouldnt boil pre hopped kits. Because of this i have been thinking of moving to un hopped malt extract kits with maybe using more hops and special grain. Do people suggest going this route or maybe just using pre hopped kits?