New to Mead making

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
I am new to mead making made my first batch 1 gallon carboy and it came out great.
Got a 3 gallon carboy started my 2nd batch , It had a strong fermentation Tons of bubbling and foaming after about 2 weeks it just stopped. Everything settled to the bottom and no bubbles to be seen anywhere. Can it be done? It is in a temperature controlled room.

It may be done fermenting, but not necessarily ready to be enjoyed.

If there aren't any bubbles whatsoever then your ferment is probably done. Rack into a secondary pull a sample to get a gravity reading and taste some. If its got the alcohol level you want and the sweetness you want..then its done. If its too dry you may need to backsweeten. Although back sweetening can cause it to start fermenting again if the yeast have not yet reached its alcohol tolerance.

If its exactly where you want it you will have to add potassium metabisulfate and potassium sorbate to kill off the yeast and prevent reproduction. This will stabilize your mead and allow you to add sweetness to taste without starting another ferment.

It may also need to age to really get the flavor your looking for. This depends on the yeast you used and the ingredients in your batch.

Hi NovaTheMeadFaun - and welcome.
What was the starting gravity? What is the gravity today? Knowing these two data tells you a great deal about where your mead is. Counting bubbles tells you zip. If you don't have a hydrometer your next step is to buy one, stat.

Ok got a hydrometer and it floated at 1.00 the top blue line where it says wine.
My question now is ? I do not see activity what should I do let it go and do another reading next week to see if there is any changes?