New to Homebrew Talk Community (and new to Homebrewing!)

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

stljimmyj

Supporting Member
HBT Supporter
Reaction score
Hello, I'm new to both the community and all-grain homebrewing in general and I'm hoping to get some tips here. I've done several brews with a very basic kit using extracts, but I'm excited to step up my game. I'm from St. Louis MO. and I just purchased my first All Grain system, but have yet to start brewing anything. I've been watching videos on homebrewing and researching systems for about the last year and finally landed on the Brewzilla Gen 4. It arrived at my door last week, but FedEx did a great job of crushing the box and it was damaged. MoreBeer was great about the return and immediately shipped the new one out, so hoping to get my first brew started next weekend. I'm looking forward to participating in the community and benefitting from everyone's experience! I'm great at drinking 'em, but when it comes to brewing them I'm going to need to lean on some of y'all! Anyone have any tips for a first brew?

Last edited:
Welcome to HomeBrewTalk. If you can't find information you are looking for (there is a ton), just ask. We have many members who are willing to help you.

As far a tips for a first brew: Brew something simple, like an amber/brown ale or porter. Stay away from complicated grain bills, complicated hopping schedules, multiple mash temperatures, etc. And for &deity's sake, don't try to brew an NEIPA until you have your brewing and packaging process under control. NEIPAs are probably the most difficult style to get right.

Brew on :mug:

Welcome to HomeBrewTalk. If you can't find information you are looking for (there is a ton), just ask. We have many members who are willing to help you.