New to Brewing...Equipment Questions?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Meat101381

Reaction score
Hi all! I'm new to brewing and have been researching for several months now. I also read the first half of How To Brew. I've done a lot of thought about it and I wanted to go straight into all grain. I just prefer to have more of a hand in the whole brewing process. I've watched a friend of a friend (not really helped) brew all grain and it helped me solidify my choice to brew all grain.

At this point I'm trying to get an idea of what equipment/supplies I actually need since there is so much out there. I have $500 or so to spend on the whole setup. I already have a brand new never used 10 Gallon Igloo water cooler. One thing to mention is I have a gift card to Northern Brewer so I need to get approximately $150 worth of stuff there. I don't mind purchasing other equipment at other stores if needed.

Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.

Marc

Sent from my iPhone using Home Brew

That is amazing, I started with all grain as well.

This is what I bought in order to start brewing (The basics), later on you can buy more things in order to accelerate the process or make it more simple.
This is what I bought and have been using I hope it helps, but I would like to remind you that there are many ways to do and approach the same processes.

I might have forgotten something, but here is the main equipment.

A key I have found is Patience, be sure to have it before you start brewing.

 Milling
You can crush the grains in different ways, but you have to remember that your efficiency might not be the same as if you were using a mill or you can buy crushed grains.
 Sanitizing

Oxi-clean
Star-san or Iodophor.

 Heating water