new to all grain with some simple questions

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

psujeeperman02

Reaction score
So, i am new to AG brewing. I have ingredients and a recipe, but am unsure of the proper amounts of water for a 5 gallon batch.

First, I have 16lbs of grain.
I have read that 4 gallons of water for mashing should be fine.

Now, what I am unsure of is how/where do I add the water to bring it up to correct batch size?

Is this during sparging? Do I account for boil off?

work backwards from how much you intend to bottle

figure out how much bottling loss, fermenter loss and boil-off loss and add to get how much you need pre-boil. you can estimate all this, but you'll need to brew and measure to get specific amounts for your equipment

figure out your strike volume. this is anywhere from 1 to 2 quarts per pound of grain. this ratio depends alot on style and recipe, but also on personal preference.

figure out loss due to grain absorption (pretty much a constant 1 fluid oz per oz of grain) and any dead-space in your tun (totally dependent on your equipment). subtract this from your strike and that should tell you how much your first runnings should be

your sparge amount will depend on how much first runnings you get. start with however much water your first runnings are short of your pre-boil volume. don't need to account for grain or dead-space loss in your sparge amount, you should get as much water out as you put in

First, I have 16lbs of grain.
I have read that 4 gallons of water for mashing should be fine.

A good rule of thumb is 1.25 quarts of strike water per pound of grain. In your case, that's 1.25 qt/lb * 16 lb = 20 qts, or 5 gallons. So you'd use 5 gallons of strike water.