New mead brewer here - Advice needed.

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Raul Serrano

Reaction score
Hey guys. This is my first time brewing mead with the honey my family harvest.
So, for starters I used Red Star Premier Cuveé yeast, I looked up and it will create a dry mead. if mead is in someway like wine, I prefer my mead and wine dry, not sweet, but do you have any suggestion regarding the use of certain yeast? What's your favorite?

I also used a 1 gallon container (you know, the standard one everyone has at home), but I'm not sure how to rack it, any tips? If I manually pour the mead to another container for secondary fermentation and enters in contact with oxygen will it go bad?

Last question, I used raisins as yeast nutrient because that is what I saw on the internet, is this an actual good idea or just a myth? I think mead can absorb some of the raisins flavor. I'm not sure if that is a good thing.

Hope you guys can help me.

I’m very new to this myself, but I’d highly recommend getting a racking cane. It makes siphoning the wine safe and effortless. Then at the end, a wand attachment makes bottling or racking into multiple containers very easy without spilling. Sucking on the end of the tubing is very risky. you’ll contaminate your product and prob end up with a mouth full of very yeasty/young wine.
Some will argue, but If your unable to get proper nutrients, fruits can provide some, https://www.denardbrewing.com/blog/post/Nutrient-fruit/
Other than some nutrients, raisins and such are said to add some flavor/body to a drink.