New guy, new cider, questions

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

sesamechicken

Reaction score
Hiya,
I'm a brewing/fermentation rookie, although I've read quite a bit on here and various other outlets. My first real embark into creating something started on Saturday when I came home with 2 1-gallon jugs of Whole Foods unfiltered AJ. I'm fortunate enough to have a LHB store, so I have airlocks, star san, etc and a wide selection of yeast and other materials.

Anywho, this juice naturally read 1.054, so for the first jug I simply added half a pack of Nottingham yeast and set the bubbler. I took the first reading this evening and it was at 1.024. A taste revealed a slightly yeasty, slightly sour cider with definite hints of alcohol. It still had a surprising amount of the original apple flavor. I didn't find it bad at all, and I know that if it were cold and carbonated, it would be pretty darn tasty. I will also add that since I screwed with it, the airlock isn't nearly as busy as it was beforehand.

I'd like to bottle this tomorrow before it runs too dry for my wife, so for this first batch I plan on using plastic bottles. Can I bottle with 1/8 c dextrose, keep an eye on the firmness of the bottles, then throw 'em in the fridge when I'm comfortable with the carb level? I don't anticipate them lasting long, but don't want to find the inside of my refrigerator covered in cider, either. Am I correct that the cold will halt fermentation indefinitely? (as long as they stay cold, of course). My next batches after this will be capped in beer bottles and I'd be curious to know if the cold will suffice instead of pasteurization, as well.