New brewer needs help.

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

dmblackshire

Reaction score
Hello folks,
I am very new to brewing, but I have the bug real bad. We have a few cases bottled and are waiting for our first batch to taste, but in the process of keeping up with the supply I have run into a problem.
While making a wheat beer brew kit my friend and I on a Sunday brew day followed the directions and make our now 4th kit of beer. For all I know and follow we have the directions correct ,but after 5 days now there is no bubbles in our air lock, thus telling me that I do not have a proper fermentation happening. In the amount of research I can find online I have come to the conclusion that I should re pitch the yeast. Would you all make similar suggestions? Thank you for your help to a new, but dedicated brewer.

Bubbles are not a reliable indicator of fermentation, be patient its fine.

If you are really worried, take a sample and do a SG test this is the only way to see if fermentation is going on.

Follow the SG with your hydrometer it's the best way to know what's happening with your beer. If you don't have one... buy one :D since you have the bug hehe. 5 days is a bit long for no sign of fermentation. Did you see any krausen? If you saw it and it fall down, that's an other good sign of fermentation. Did you shake the wort and yeast with the spoon the first day? The yeast need oxygen to do is job.

Whats the temp at? I usually ferment in the basement, but with the -10, -20 weather we've been having lately my basement is at about 50. Too cold to ferment down there! So my carboys are at ground level at a nice 65 degrees now. Just a thought, definately check your gravity though