Need help

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Linkultra13

Reaction score
Hi, this is my first time brewing mead at home. I got all the equipment and fruits and flavors. I wanted to make two gallons in 4 1/2 gallon mason jars. I wanted to make different meads in each jar. Can I make the traditional mead base then add flavors after pouring in mason jars ?

You can certainly add fruits, etc. to the fermenter. In fact, that's typical.

But 4 1/2 gallon jars isn't going to be enough volume to ferment 2 gallons of mead. You need some head space to avoid blowoff.

Agree with @VikeMan. You'll need at least one more 1/2 gallon jar. 2 might be better.
If I'm gonna use different recipes per half gallon do I put the yeast after pouring the half gallons and mixing the fruits ans flavors? Or do I do it in the beginning while mixing the honey with water

If you have a vessel, a bucket can suffice, that will hold all of it with at least 2 inches of head space, it will work better to pitch your yeast into the total batch for primary fermentation. Once fermentation slows, likely a week or more, then you can separate it into smaller vessels and add the fruit. Make sure you have sufficient head space in your secondaries and let them work off for a couple weeks then taste them. More time will improve your meads that will then be melomels.