need help with optimizing fermentation and hop flavors

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

latProd

Reaction score
Hi,

I'm not really a beginner, but I guess I am starting to take this hobby more seriously now. I am currently using a grainfather and 30L plastic buckets with lid with a small hole for the yeast thingy (cant remember the english for it, we call it a "yeast lock" over here) and a tap on the bottom.
I have a room which holds 64 degrees at the moment. So basically I use RO water, add gypsum; calcium chloride and 2% acidulated malt etc like several people here have taught me to do.
I then add some bittering hops 30 min before flameout, cool the mash down to about 178 and add my flavor and aroma hops, wait, then transfer to fermenter using the GF's counterflow chiller.
Pitch yeast, aerate, and stick it in a room which holds 64 degrees.
I wait about 7 days, open the lid on the fermenter and throw in my first dry hops, wait 7 more days, more dryhops again, then bottle a week later.
Is this about right? Or am I ruining my chances of getting really fruity hoppy beers by removing the lid on my fermenter several times during fermentation? I just want some feedback or maybe some advice on things I could do better, or equipment that would make a difference in a positive way. I can't afford the whole kegging thing at the moment unfortunately.

First of all 30 mins is a waste of hops. You'll get little flavor due to the hop oils "boiling off" and you'll get way more bitterness from a 60 minute hop boil. So just use less hops and boil them for 60 minutes and you'll save some money and hops.

I like the way you are handling your late additions, that's what I do and have noticed increased flavor. Although you are cooling your "wort" down not "mash" btw.