Need help with Mypin TA-7 SSR PID and RTD wiring

HomeBrewTalk.com - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Community.

Help Support Homebrew Talk:

baer19d

Well-Known Member
Joined
May 1, 2008
Messages
295
Reaction score
8
I'm starting to wire my control panel and I'm having some issues. First of all I don't understand schematic symbols. I need to hook up power in, 3 wire RTD probe, and an SSR. I've attached a picture of the PID terminals, RTD wires and XLR plugs that I'm using, and a picture of the schematic for the panel, which of course I didn't make. so if someone can tell me which wire goes where I'd appreciate it. As far as I can tell 1 &2 are AC in but other than that I'm lost. Also, does it matter which of the three RTD wires goes where?
Thanks, Mike
[/URL][/IMG]

 

Brumateur

Supporting Member
HBT Supporter
Joined
Jan 13, 2014
Messages
563
Reaction score
91
is your PID model index RNR or SNR?
If it's RNR you will need an additional low voltage DC power supply for your SSRs. If It's SNR you can connect SSR directly to pid terminals 3and 4.

Thermoprobe - Connect red probe wire to terminal 11 and also place a jumper wire between 10 and 11. One white wire should goe to terminal 12 another to 13. Order doesn't matter.
 

augiedoggy

Well-Known Member
Joined
Dec 6, 2013
Messages
10,284
Reaction score
2,279
Location
North Tonawanda NY
is your PID model index RNR or SNR?
If it's RNR you will need an additional low voltage DC power supply for your SSRs. If It's SNR you can connect SSR directly to pid terminals 3and 4.

Thermoprobe - Connect red probe wire to terminal 11 and also place a jumper wire between 10 and 11. One white wire should goe to terminal 12 another to 13. Order doesn't matter.
Why do you recommend the jumper here but not on the td series pid?
 
OP
B

baer19d

Well-Known Member
Joined
May 1, 2008
Messages
295
Reaction score
8
The unithas TA7-SRR on it.
is your PID model index RNR or SNR?
If it's RNR you will need an additional low voltage DC power supply for your SSRs. If It's SNR you can connect SSR directly to pid terminals 3and 4.

Thermoprobe - Connect red probe wire to terminal 11 and also place a jumper wire between 10 and 11. One white wire should goe to terminal 12 another to 13. Order doesn't matter.
 

Brumateur

Supporting Member
HBT Supporter
Joined
Jan 13, 2014
Messages
563
Reaction score
91
SNR has one alarm, SRR has two. But both has a direct SSR output. So you can wire SSR directly to PID.
 
OP
B

baer19d

Well-Known Member
Joined
May 1, 2008
Messages
295
Reaction score
8
Thank you very much. Hopefully I get this wired up soon.What's the purpose of the alarms anyway, j
ust an audible indicator?
SNR has one alarm, SRR has two. But both has a direct SSR output. So you can wire SSR directly to PID.
 

Brumateur

Supporting Member
HBT Supporter
Joined
Jan 13, 2014
Messages
563
Reaction score
91
Alarm is just a relay which activated if temperature raise or fall below programmed level. To make it audible you need to connect a buzzer.

And I was wrong about SSR connection. SSR should be connected to terminals 7 (+) and 9(-).
 
Top