Need help wiring my PID and SSR

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

EZFrag

Reaction score
I searched the forum and found some threads wiring a PID and SSR for an element. I am trying to wire a refrigerator. I want to use the fridge to put my fermenter in and was hoping the the PID would give me better temperature control.

The PID i purchased is the SYL 2362A2 PID. The SSR is 25A SSR. I also bought a temp probe.

Thanks for helping a noob out. I understand this wiring is probably fundamental, but I have no experience with wiring electrical things like this. I was hoping for better instructions with the devices. The SSR came with nothing.

Thanks again.

See if this helps: You can download the entire instruction manual here. I'm sure several of us can help you wire it up, but unless you understand the operation as well, you'll still need help with what to do next.

I'm still unsure how to wire the ssr. Also wondering how I will mount the PID in the door.

You don't want to use a PID to control a fridge, the compressor will die an early death if it cycles on and off frequently. You want to have a controller (Johnson, Ranco, Love, etc.) that will turn it on or off with a delay of minutes and not seconds.

Some of those like the Johnson or Ranco require you to only plug the fridge into the controller and then route the temp probe into the fridge, pretty easy.

Here the wiring diagram that I used with the help of HBT members and it works good for me. The switch is from automation direct not that it should matter but this should be helpful
betterwiring.jpg

re read the post and this really isn't that helpful

Hey guys, this is my first post, and i want to thank you all for the great information you provide here.