Need help picking my next recipe

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

DocBrown

Reaction score
Hello everyone!
I'm brand new to the homebrew world. I've talked about trying to brew for a while but never really took the time to look into it. My wife, knowing full well how much I can talk about something without ever doing anything about it, bought me Papazian's book for Christmas. And then, when I hadn't even taken the time to get it off the shelf, took me out to dinner for Valentines Day and then drove me to the local homebrew shop and told me to get everything I needed to start brewing!

I made a fair number of mistakes starting off, and the newbie guides (especially the stickied threads) were a huge encouragement. In any case, I have an Irish Red that's been in the secondary for 2 weeks and will be bottled tomorrow. Meanwhile I have a wort chiller on order. (I didn't find out about the importance of rapidly cooling the wort before brewing, and I just left my first batch covered on the counter to cool - it took 10 hours to get below 80 deg!)