Need help on recipe

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

daveooph131

Reaction score
I am wanting to brew a kolsch for my 2nd batch.

I've got a temp control for my fridge, what temp should I ferment at?

Also, can you help me figure out what extract to use, and how much/what kind of hops and the boil schedule. I am new at this and don't want to use a kit on this go around.

I've already got the yeast I want.

I'd ferment at about 62 degrees until you are about 3/4 to final gravity, then let it free-rise up to 70 degrees for a few days. Then you can start lagering it.

I use the following recipe:

Ingredients:
------------
Amount Item Type % or IBU
2.00 lb Extra Light Dry Extract (3.0 SRM) Dry Extract 23.18 %
6.00 lb Pilsner (2 Row) Ger (2.0 SRM) Grain 69.53 %
0.50 lb Vienna Malt (3.5 SRM) Grain 5.78 %
0.13 lb Cara-Pils/Dextrine (2.0 SRM) Grain 1.51 %
0.25 oz Magnum [13.00 %] (60 min) Hops 12.5 IBU
1.00 oz Hallertauer Mittelfrueh [3.00 %] (60 min)Hops 11.5 IBU
0.65 tbsp PH 5.2 Stabilizer (Mash 60.0 min) Misc
1.00 items Whirlfloc Tablet (Boil 15.0 min) Misc
1.00 tsp Yeast Nutrient (Boil 15.0 min) Misc
6.00 gal Cologne - left bank Water
1 Pkgs Kolsch Yeast (Wyeast Labs #2565) [Starter Yeast-Ale

Mash Schedule: Single Infusion, Medium Body, Batch Sparge
Total Grain Weight: 6.63 lb
----------------------------
Single Infusion, Medium Body, Batch Sparge
Step Time Name Description Step Temp
60 min Mash In Add 8.94 qt of water at 159.1 F 149.0 F