Need help designing a different sort of Oktoberfest

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ReverseApacheMaster

Reaction score
Ok...this is going to be a weird request...I'm not sure it would be possible or taste remotely good, but I'm looking to produce an Oktoberfest with the following in mind:

-I am fairly new to homebrewing so I do not have very advanced equipment (read starter kit)

-I live in Texas and it will be warm for several more months

-I do not have a way to ferment or lager at low temperatures so lager yeast are out (at least as far as I understand the use of lager yeast)

So I'm looking for an oktoberfest recipe that would accomodate ale yeast and warmer temperatures. I realize it wouldn't be anywhere close to as good as a real oktoberfest recipe, but does anybody have a recipe like this or any ideas that could point me in the right direction of coming up with such a recipe?

Find an Oktoberfest recipe that you think looks good and ferment it with an ale yeast. I did one a while back with a belgian wit yeast and it came out ok. I made a couple errors in my grains when I was steeping and the color of the beer is way off but the flavor is still good. You might be surprised at how good an oktoberfest can be when done with an ale yeast.