My kit did not come with instructions. Can someone help?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
I just recieved a kit from Home Brewers Outpost. Its a kit to brew a stout. It includes 9 pounds of United Canadian Dark Extract (malt), 1 1/2 oz. hops(pellets), Nottingham yeast (11g), priming sugar, steeping pouches and grains. Problem is, it didnt include instructions, and HomeBrewers Outpost hasent been coming up for the last few hours. I'd like to get it started tonight, but Im not experienced enough to wing it. Can someone please provide me with, or give me a link to some directions. Thanks in advance, Josh:mug:

Sure, we can help. I need you to identify the kinds of hops and the %AA, first. This should be on the package.

What exactly do you mean by steeping pouches, a grain bag maybe?

If you can answer those questions, we can tell you exactly how to proceed.

Lorena

Correction, there are 3 bags. I just assumed they were for the grains.
Ill type exactly as it reads on the hops package:

Nugget
Alpha Acid 1.28%
Divide this bag into approximately

1.5 oz. bittering hops &
.50 oz. finishing hops.
Total contents 2oz.

---------------------------------

There is also a grains bag. The grains bag reads:

Specialty Grains
For color, head retention, and residual sugars.

Thanks a bunch Yooper Chick !!

sanitize everything you are using!

pour as much water as your pot will hold without overflowing leave about and inch of space in your brew pot from the top of the water to the top of you pot.

place all your grains in the grain bag tie the end in a knot. place the grain bag in the pot letting it steep like a tea bag. remove grain bag when temperature hits about 180 degrees. let bag drain do not squeeze bag.