My first lager brewday

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

bierhunter

Reaction score
Ok I did my first lager and might have made a few mistakes. I read everything about lagering and decided even though most everyone says its ok to ferment my starter at room temperature I did a starter at 55 degrees for a couple of days (used mr.malty's calculator and used 2 wyeast packs and a 3 liter starter) and basically kept the yeast at around the same temperature all the way through. The problem was that I used a clone kit from Austin Homebrew and based my calculations on their estimated og of 1.051. I ended up getting 1.032 giving me a very low alcohol content and a very over pitched batch as far as yeast goes. That part might be ok as it is a lager, but when I plug in 1.032 to Mr. Malty it says I only need one yeast pack in a 3 liter starter. Where I think I went wrong is I ordered the kit pre-milled and I brew in a bag. I have my grain mill set to mill fine as I don't have to worry about stuck sparges and I get respectable efficiency that way, and the pre-milled was probably too coarse. I should have checked my og earlier and adjusted, so that is something I can take into future batches. I know better too but laziness got the better of me. I was also doing back to back 2.5 gallon batches and combining them as I only have a stove and 3 gallons is the max I can do right now.