My BIAB Process Outlined (Missing Anything?)

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

hafmpty

Reaction score
I'm new to BIAB. I did one batch years ago, but haven't since. I'm putting together a 2.5gal direct-fired RIMS BIAB brewery. From the reading I've done there are LOTS of different ways to do BIAB. Here's my plan. Tell me if I'm missing something as I probably am.

1. Crush the grains with my Barley Crusher. Based on the Basic Brewing Radio BIAB podcast, I'm going to try a single-pass loose crush rather than pulverizing the grain...probably around .040-.045. I'm shooting for 70% efficiency for the first batch and will modify this number once I've brewed a few times.

2. Mash for 90min in a 6gal Bayou Kettle w/ a BIAB bag inside the included basket and recirculate during the mash for clarity and temperature stability.

NOTE: I'm going to try to do a dunk sparge. My goal is to mash with enough water to account for grain absorbtion plus two roughly equal amounts of water (i.e. 8lb grist would mean about 3.6gal of mash water & 2.6gal of sparge water with 1gal of the mash water being absorbed by the grain).

4. Once the mash is done, drain the clear wort out of the 6gal Bayou Kettle into a bucket/second pot/whatever and add sparge water into the 6gal Bayou Kettle.

5. Stir the mash & recirculate until the second runnings wort is clear again.

7. Drain the second runnings wort and combine with the first runnings.

8. Start the 90min boil and proceed as normal.