More yeast needed for bottle conditioning?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

DavidSwede

Reaction score
Hi! I am new to all-grain brewing and have read a lot about secondary not really being the way anymore and instead just leaving in the primary for longer.

I have a glass carboy ive been using for primary and was thinking now to syphon into another vessel with a tap I can use to make bottling easier.

Anyway.... Im wondering as the brew has now been in primary for so long (~5 weeks) will there still be enough yeast in suspension for bottle conditioning? Would hate to prime as usual then find after a month or two the beer was flat. (I like bubbles!!)

I did do some searching for this but couldnt really find a specific answer.

Thanks in advance!

David.

Hi! I am new to all-grain brewing and have read a lot about secondary not really being the way anymore and instead just leaving in the primary for longer.

I have a glass carboy ive been using for primary and was thinking now to syphon into another vessel with a tap I can use to make bottling easier.

Anyway.... Im wondering as the brew has now been in primary for so long (~5 weeks) will there still be enough yeast in suspension for bottle conditioning? Would hate to prime as usual then find after a month or two the beer was flat. (I like bubbles!!)

I did do some searching for this but couldnt really find a specific answer.

Thanks in advance!

David.

No need to add yeast. There are hundreds of millions in suspension in the beer.

• Mix priming solution and bring to a boil (I use a microwave)
    Corn Sugar.jpgPriming Solution.jpg
  • Add to bottling bucket
  • Rack beer to bottling bucket with a swirl created by the hose (gentle)
    Racking1.jpg
  • Bottle from spigot using a bottling wand.