More malt flavor?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

BeerWars

Reaction score
I am relatively new to brewing. My beer have gotten to the point that they are very delicious but they seem to be a little "thin." Not sure it that is the correct word - but they are lacking in the malt taste department. They all have flavor but I would like a maltier beer. Do I need to utilize a different mashing technique i.e. decoction or do I need to mash higher than 150-155? Can you use those techniques on any recipe to get more malt flavor.

What is the best way to get a maltier beer?

Mash at a higher temp to achieve more malt flavor. I just did an Irish Red Ale and mashed @ 158 and it has a VERY malty flavor. I may knock it down to 156 next time.

I will usually mash at 148 - 150 for my lighter, crisper beers (light Summer Ales).

It really depends if you want more body or more malt flavor or both. If you just want more body you can add 4oz - 8oz of malto.

Make sure calibrate your thermometer in both an ice bath and boiling water.

JOhn

try adding a few pounds of munich malt. A higher mash temp will give you more residual sugar and mouthfeel. A lower temp will be dryer and thinner. play around with some more toasted malts.

Yes higher mash temperatures can be utilized to get a maltier beer. If you're in the 155 range when malting though, I would suspect that this may not be the issue as much. You don't want to go too high (like above 162) as you'll denature the enzymes needed for conversion. Have you checked your thermometer to make sure it's accurate? Test it in boiling water to make sure it reads 212, if not you may be a few degrees off on your mash temperatures.