Making slants from dry yeast?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

dye4me

Reaction score
I have been using Nottingham dry yeast for several years. It now cost $4/pack+shipping, and Im getting tired of the $8 yeast tax on every 10 gallon batch i make. I like the idea of making slants and building up starters as sometimes i brew 5 gallons, sometimes I make 35gallons. The silly question i have is should i just rehydrate the notty and dip the clip to innoc my slants or should I make a starter, decant and dip into a starter of notty?

I have been using Nottingham dry yeast for several years. It now cost $4/pack+shipping, and Im getting tired of the $8 yeast tax on every 10 gallon batch i make. I like the idea of making slants and building up starters as sometimes i brew 5 gallons, sometimes I make 35gallons. The silly question i have is should i just rehydrate the notty and dip the clip to innoc my slants or should I make a starter, decant and dip into a starter of notty?

If you use the same yeast all the time why not just harvest the slurry from one batch for the next umpteen batches? Pretty soon you'll have more yeast than you know what to do with.

Preparing slants when you use the same strain all the time seems like a lot of work with no greater reward than offered by simple slurry harvest.

I am under the impression that a month would be about max time for a slurry sample to survive, and sometime i just cant get to brewing that quick from my last batch. I would also like to start trying other stains for my existing brews and im starting to brew lagers so storing other types of yeast will become more important as time goes on.