Making Pellets

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Privateerx

Reaction score
Hello All,
I was wondering if it's possible or even useful to make hop pellets out of my hop harvest, and if so what would it take to do at home?
Cheers,

P

Pellets, no, but some people have made hop plugs at home. i believe you'll find the info in the DIY section.

I imagine if I was a pro it would be necessary for me to make pellets. As a home BREWER, I hate pellets. The last thing I want to do with my home grown hops to make them into sludgy pellets. I'm curious why you want to make them into pellets. Beyond storage issues, I don't see the advantage for the home brewer. Not trying to pick a fight, just curious.

Pelletizing is done for two primary reasons, volume reduction and oxidation prevention. You can fit a 4 x 4 x 4 pallet of hop cones into a few 1 cubic foot boxes after pelletizing, which saves a lot of cooler space. You also significantly reduce surface area so there is less oxidation occurring to spoil the hops.

Most brewers also prefer that sludge to whole hop cones. It is easier to clean out and you don't loose as much wort when you pull the sludge out compared to the whole cones. Wort = beer = profit.

That said, making pellets is a pain and requires beefy equipment. If you grow your own, make hop plugs for storage if you want to reduce volume.

One other note, you really don't loose lupulin in the pelletizing process, if you do it right. We send them through the hammermill and convey it directly into the pelletizer. Once it is pelletized, its locked in. Where you lose the most is during drying and when you pull it out of the dryer.