making an AG recipe with an extract kit.

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

pistachio

Reaction score
This is my first post here. I have been visiting this site, reading and learning, for about 6 months. You guys are absolutely great so I figured you could help me out.

I bought a brewers best kit equipment kit from a living social deal and it came with a brewers best extract kit, which I have had sitting around and never touched. I have decided to make the switch to all grain and did my first all grain stove top the other day (small 2.5gal. smash). I have left over grains and I have this extract kit. I was thinking making an AG brew using this kit but substituting the LME and DME with my left over grains. I had also kicked around the idea of mashing my grains separately and brewingu the extract kit and mixing the two together for a really high gravity.

The kit is a continental pilsner:
-3.3lb Pilsen LME
-2lb Pilsen DME
-12oz Pilsen grain
-8oz Carapils

-.5oz Brewers gold AA 10.4
-.5oz mt. Rainier AA 7.5
-.25oz German Tradition AA 6.9

Left over from my AG SMaSH:
-5lb Maris Otter
-.5oz Chinook AA 11.8

So my questions are:
-should I throw all of the grains in my bag, mash them together and ditch the extracts? If I do this should I add my Chinook? If so when? (I was thinking somewhere around the 30min mark or closer to the 15min mark) this way would he another 2.5 gallon batch as I don't think there is enough grain for a 5 gallon and I also don't have a big enough brew pot for a full 5 gallon boil.
-Or should I use 2 separate pots and brew the extract kit in one and mash my Maris Otter in another then add the 2 together in my fermenter for a full 5 gallon batch. If I do this I planned on only using the 3.3lbs LME in the extract kit.