Maibock....Dead Guy...?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

mdf191

Reaction score
I just recently found out that Rouges Dead Guy ale is an american (pacman yeast) twist on german maibocks. I have been planning on brewing a maibock, and was excited to try my hand at lagering, which I have never done before. I have the capacity to lager in a fridge, and I was about ready to embark, when I found out about this dead guy issue.

The problem is I like maibocks, and I have had some pretty tasty ones. But the versions I liked the most were mostly done by american brew pubs and micro brewers, havent had as many german versions. ....But I also really like dead guy and I was pleasantly surprised to find out this tasty beer was brewed in the maibock style. After finding that out, I was inspired to get my maibock "dead guy like". As far as I know all the clone dead guy recipes on this forum are calling for ale yeast strains....mostly california ale yeast (which I believe is kind of a lagerish character, ale temp fermenting strain). Rouge's pacman yeast strain is also ale, as far as I know..

So what do I do, brew a maibock traditionally with lager yeast. Or use a lager yeast but tinker the traditional ingredients to more dead guy like ones. Or should I brew with a Cali Ale Yeast? ...Also does california ale yeast ferment well at lager temps? Because in that case, maybe I would use the ale yeast but ferment at lager temps.

Any insight would be great. And if you have experience lagering maibocks, and like dead guy...even better!

Pretty much all of Rogue's beers use Pacman which is an ale yeast. I'm a big fan of Dead Guy, and I just did my first maibock last weekend, it's fermenting away right now.