Low yeast activity

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

tatooedsn

Reaction score
Yeah, I am an unfortunate newbie who used cider with the potassium sorbate. I have small bubbles mostly and I haven't seen any major bubbling since I started this batch 6 days ago. I did put some yeast energizer and EC-1118 in after a few days, but only a small improvement. I am wondering is this batch is stuck or if I should let it keep going even with the small bubbles.

I was thinking about racking this into another container and making a new yeast starter. This site was saying that you can mix a killer strain with some oj (no oj joke intended!) to give it a kick in the pants.
Make a different kind of starter: use about a 1/2 cup of warm water, dissolve 1 teaspoon of sugar in the water, add some orange juice to this mix, make sure the temperature is about 90° F, before adding a packet of Red Star Premier Cuvee or Lalvin EC-1118 yeast to this mixture. Wait until it really gets working. Take about a gallon of your must and warm it up to about 68° to 70° F. Now add the yeast starter to the gallon of must, as it starts to work and gets going, SLOWLY add small portions of the stuck fermentation to that which is working. You should not add more than a quart, make sure the temperature of that which you are adding is at least 70° F. As the volume of the working must gets larger, you can add larger portions to the fermentation. Make sure the temperature is at least 70° F before you add it.
http://www.grapestompers.com/articles/stuck_fermentation.htm