Low Profile Motorized Grain Mill Cabinet

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

BenhamBrewing

Reaction score
After looking at all the great Mill Cabinet designs on here (and wanting to motorize my mill for YEARS), I decided it was time to draft one up (haha.. draft...). I wanted it to be small enough to roll under my existing workbench when not being used, and be closed up when not in use to keep dust out of it (from other projects). I also wanted to put a shelf or a drawer on it to keep my specialty grains in/store my grain scale. I've been powering my Monster Mill MM3 for the past 7 years or so with a drill, so i was REALLY looking forward to actually putting a motor on it. I started in Google Sketchup, and after 4 iterations, i came up with this:

mill3.JPG
Mill Back.png

Attachments

• Mill inside.png
    Mill inside.png
    532.9 KB · Views: 11
Its still a work in progress, so its not finished yet, but the build is 90% done. I'll get some progress pics posted here soon. The toughest part has been trying to get the motor and pulleys to work with my mill.

I really like that it folds down! Does it mill into a bag? Or where will the bin go when folded down?

The plan was to have it mill into a bucket, that sits on a shelf on drawer glides so you can slide it out easily. The bucket in my "brewery" gets used later in the brew day for sanitizer, so it would not live in the cabinet. BUT... i like the idea of it milling into a bag. Then the entire thing would fold up inside...