Lots of Firsts

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

egy

Reaction score
Hello Everyone,

While this is my first post I've spent many hours reading past threads and other information on this site. It's great to have such an amazing amount of information available, and following past forums of everyone's experience is priceless. So first, I'd like to say Thanks!

I typed this post mainly to write all my thoughts and learnings to make sure I hadn't over looked anything, but I figure it'd be worth posting now since I've got it.

I've been brewing on and off for a few years now and recently my interest (maybe due to finally having some time) has exploded. I'm planning on brewing my first all grain batch this weekend. Please feel free to make comments regarding: tips, unintentional omissions, errors, experiences, opinions, etc!

So here's the plan for my first all grain Belgian Wit (variation of a Hoeegarden Clone posted by "Schlenkerla" - also my first Belgian style brew):

I started this week building an MLT out a 10 gallon Rubbermaid cooler. I opted to go with the copper manifold design (square shaped with two center cross members). Got it all built last night and going to clean/sterilize it this evening. Also this evening, I'm going pick up my ingredients for brewing tomorrow. My ingredient schedule is as follows:

50% 5lbs Belgian Pils
50% 5lbs Flaked Wheat
60min .25oz Nuggest Pellets
15min .5oz Saaz Pellets
5min .5oz Coriander Seeds
5min .5oz Bitter Orange Peel
Wyeast 3944 Belgian White

I plan to execute my mash as follows:
Infusion mash with a protein rest @ approx 125dF and Sachrification @ approx 150dF. Batch sparge.

-Boil 2-3 gallons of water and fill mlt to preheat.