Looking to get into Kegging

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Medevac_Chief

Reaction score
Hey everyone,
I am new at brewing but have been seriously looking into starting to keg my beer instead of bottles. So I was wondering if I could run all my beer on a Nirto system so that I dont have to buy 1 system for my IPA's, and other Ales, and the Nitro system for just the Stout.
Thanks

I don't know what a "Nirto system" is but if your question is about running different pressures to different kinds of beer, that can be accomplished by a gas manifold with a separate output pressure for each split-off. (I've seen as many as 8 of these linked together.... seems like LOTS of risk for slow leaks, but once it is all solid, shouldn't have problems.)

Well arent stouts normally poured useing a nitro system instead of normal CO2, that have a diffent tap? I guess I should of been a bit more clear on my actual question. Can I run other styles of beer on the same system that I would a stout

They use something called "beer gas" which is a mixture of nitrogen and co2. Think you can buy this stuff from your gas supplier. It would be worth checking out. I think this would be fine to use on any beer. Not sure how much it costs though may be expensive.

There are a few commercial stouts that have the nitrogen added to the gas mixture in order to give it a smoother texture but those are an exception, not the rule. Never seen a homebrewer doing it. I would just get a normal kegging system and look into nitrogen down the line if you decide to become some sort of stout aficionado.

Ah ha. From Wikipedia: