Looking for some help in Metro Detroit (Berkley)

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

SGTSparty

Reaction score
Hey all,
First off I'm new to HBT so if this isn't the place for this lemme know. Anyways, I'm looking for a bit of help. I want to make a Bell's Two Hearted all grain clone in the coming weeks but from what I've read if you want it to be as close as possible you need to harvest from the Bell's bottles. I've only every done dry yeast so I've never done bottle harvesting nor starters and I don't have the equipment. Does anyone either have a vial in their yeast bank or would be willing to build me a starter for beer/a reasonable price?

Any help would be welcomed.

Thanks

Hey all,
First off I'm new to HBT so if this isn't the place for this lemme know. Anyways, I'm looking for a bit of help. I want to make a Bell's Two Hearted all grain clone in the coming weeks but from what I've read if you want it to be as close as possible you need to harvest from the Bell's bottles. I've only every done dry yeast so I've never done bottle harvesting nor starters and I don't have the equipment. Does anyone either have a vial in their yeast bank or would be willing to build me a starter for beer/a reasonable price?

Any help would be welcomed.

Thanks

All you need to make a starter is a bit of dry malt extract, a mason jar with a lid, and some Bells beer (Preferable their Amber or something not too hoppy (Two-Hearted has worked well for me.))

If you really think you can't manage this, I could probably build up a starter for you and mail it down. It would take about 2 weeks though.

Here is a post directly from Bells themselves on Tumblr about harvesting their yeast: