Looking for resources

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

hall36523

Supporting Member
HBT Supporter
Reaction score
I'm new to brewing,, I've brewed a few extra kits and am wanting to try BIAB. Looking for info on what malts to use for different styles of beer. I really don't have a clue which malts to use. Any help would be appreciated.

Check out a recipe book. "Brewing Classic Styles" is a great one. In each style there is some discussion of the malts/hops used and why. "Designing Great Beers" is another good one, more focused on how to design a beer then on recipes. I liked the styles book and following recipes first as it gave me a chance to experiment with different malts and learn which ones I liked best for different beers.

Even within a certain grain there are many variations of malts and each of them may bring a little difference to the beers.

Cheers, have fun.

you can click on NB's kit's recipes and read the pdf files
Yeah, all grain kits are probably the easiest step up from extract kits. You can also just check out the recipe threads on this site or just google "clone recipe" for your favorite craft beer. Don't just brew the first hit though - look at several and find a consensus. Also, consider starting with something simple like a SMASH (Single Malt And Single Hop).

I'm new to brewing,, I've brewed a few extra kits and am wanting to try BIAB. Looking for info on what malts to use for different styles of beer. I really don't have a clue which malts to use. Any help would be appreciated.
You're getting some good tips here already and the NB site gives you a good idea about malts.