Looking for recipes...

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Claire

Reaction score
Hey everyone!

I'm just getting into cider making and am looking for some recipes.

So far I have made a batch with an apple cider blend I bought from the store (which is about to be bottled) and a batch made with fresh pressed granny smith juice (which is just fermenting).

I'm mainly interesting in making a tart, crisp, off-dry cider and in a perfect world... I would like it to be super clear! I'm also interested in cranberry and pear variations...

Please pass on any recipes and tips you may have for me!

Thanks!

The recipe for cider is pretty simple - apple juice, yeast and time. The biggest influence on the final product is the apples.

Your Granny Smith batch is likely to be rather tart - those babies have lots of acid. They play well in a blend of more aromatic and sweet apples like Mac's. You also need some bittersweets for tannin.

Time alone will clear cider, but I always use pectic enzyme in mine to speed that up.

Beyond the apples, your process also can have an influence on the outcome. Yeast selection and temperature being the major factors.

So.. Do you have access to other juice pressings, and can you ferment in the low 60°F range? The answer to those questions will help us guide you toward what you're looking for.

When you say time is what clarifies the cider... is that time once the cider has been bottled? I can get pretty much any kind of apple to press, I'm currently working with a grape press but it's working pretty well. I'm just storing it in my basement so the temperate is a little closer to 66°F.

So far I've been using champagne yeast, pectic enzyme, camped tablets, and sugar. I did one batch with brown sugar and one batch with corn sugar.