Looking for a full kit

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

NewBrewer4

Reaction score
I am new to the homebrewing scene. I have been lurking the forum for a couple weeks now, absorbing any information I can wrap my head around. I just received my copy of Palmer's How to Brew and can't wait to start reading.

My question here is that I am looking to purchase a complete kit and would like suggestions on what others used to start out. I'm not worried about spending a pretty penny because I know that once I start the brewing process, I won't be able to stop.

Ill be starting out with extracts and don't believe I will be secondary fermenting for the first few batches. Are the any sites that anyone can reccomend for fresh extracts, yeast, or hops. I'm currently looking for a local store to get my ingredients but haven't found much in my area.

Any help would be greatly appreciated as I would like to get started ASAP.

Hey,
I'm on my first batch as well, I started with a real basic LME kit I just wanted to get my feet wet before trying a more in depth kit. I will be trying a brewers best kit next they seem to have a nice variety with good instructions.

I would personally recommend http://www.northernbrewer.com/

They have a great selection and cheap shipping 7.99 for an order. You can get a larger variety of extract kits as well as starting set ups. I would recommend going with a larger brew kettle than you think you might need. You can use a 5 for extract partial boils but I would personally get a 10 gallon if you ever think you will be doing full boils.

Welcome to the hobby.