Longtime Lurker - My Keezer Build

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

MikeTHIS

Supporting Member
HBT Supporter
Reaction score
This is going to be one heck of a first post!

I’m am a long time lurker here, observing from the shadows. I’ve landed on this forum through Google searches for years regarding my original Kegerator and even MORE since I started brewing in March of this wonderful 2020 we’re having.

Being home for close to four months gave me a ton of time for home improvement projects and brewing. I’m on my 8th beer, extract still - with plans in the near future for full grain as I’m comfortable with the entire process from sanitizing to packaging in my corny kegs (skipped bottling).

My original kegerator just wasn’t viable for home brewing, having ONE 5 gallon batch I was finding I was giving it away far too quickly. So I landed here searching for Keezers.

I found the amazing list and documentation here on the forum regarding Keezer sizes and layouts. Truly a remarkable resource - I’m talking about this:

https://www.homebrewtalk.com/threads/chest-freezer-specs-and-layouts.377518/page-19
Being a pandemic it was next to impossible to find a chest freezer, but I found a brand new one on LetGo - 9 cubic foot Frigidaire and it worked perfectly. That was in August.

I’ve gathered some parts slowly and here are the results.

Started with a 2x10 collar that I decided was way too tall and cut it down. I used a pocket hole jig and filled all holes, seams and as much of the grain as I could after sanding and sanding and sanding.

C9B40C81-E634-4CAC-9124-7FE7F27BA813.jpeg