London Bochet

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

DanielLukes

Reaction score
London Bochet (Recipe help needed!)

I am relatively new to mead making. I’ve made JAOM (of course), I have a gallon of vanilla bochet bulk ageing and have produced several low-alcohol, (and rather thin…) heather meads.

I’ve so far been very impressed by how nice mead is, but there seems to be something of an image problem in the UK, where it is either not known or known only through those horrible honey flavoured white wines that are marketed as mead.

There is a thriving (and I mean THRIVING) craft ale scene here in London full of adventurous young people willing to try whatever’s on tap this week. Surely to treat mead like an easy-drinking ale or cider rather than a fine wine is a better way to go?

So, my mission is to develop great, low alcohol mead that is ale-like enough to tap into the craft beer market, but still has the unique, honey taste which will help mead stand out as a separate category in the public mind. If it is the drinker’s first ever mead, I want it to be something that they will want to try again and not just a novelty drink.

I want it to be:

• Dark in colour, hearty in flavour, like a good London ale.
  • Eventually served out of casks like real ale.
  • A true mead. (NOT a braggot/metheglyn/cyser etc…)
  • Low in alcohol. (3-7%)

After a few little experiments, here is my proposed recipe for 1gal of my London Bochet to use as a starting point for further development:

• 2/3rd of a pound - Paynes Blossom Honey
  • 1/3rd of a pound - Paynes Orange Blossom Honey
  • Tap water (the tap water is relatively good here in South London).
  • 2 bags - English Breakfast Tea (for body, to make up for the low honey content.)