Liquid Malt Extract Questions

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

kike_gimenez

Reaction score
Hello all im a very new homebrewer and I came across a manufacturer here in my country that makes liquid malted extract products and they confirmed me that they provide to major breweries across the country.

Products were detailed as follows:

- Non Diastatic Liquid Malt Extract.
- Diastatic Liquid Malt Extract.
- High Maltose.
- Inverted Sugar.

My question is, are these or any of these ingredients usable for brewing ? I ask this because I just started brewing beer and for now I've only tried Coopers Extract kits, and they are really hard for me to get here. I was hoping these ingredients could work to put up a good wort so I can add some hops and make some decent beer following some recipes and learning tru these processes.

Thanks in advance for your responses. As for the details of the components of these extracts which I thought you guys may ask. If the manufactures says they sell these products to brewing companies my guess is mostly barley, and probably some rice and corn. One other thing might be how much water % those extract have in order to achieve the proper sugars on the wort for fermentation.

But I thought Id start by asking if these products are suitable for making beer.

Happy brewing guys. Peace :fro:

From what Ive could found. The NON Diastatic extract is the one used for brewing beer.

I was thinking I could get a positive assumption on this on the internet. Something like "Yes I've used Non Diastatic Liquid Malt Extract from barley in many recipes. I have a recipe that is 4lbs of Non Diastatic LME 1lbs of Diastatic LME + 30g Golding Hops at 30 + 20 Golding hops at 15min + 10g of Golding Hops at 5 min"