Line Length vs. Flow Control and Proper Carbonation/Flow Rate

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

tennesseean_87

Reaction score
I'm new to kegging. I have my first beer on the gas for a week. I've had samples here and there. It seems I need to pour off a bit of warm beer from my tower (despite insulation and copper pipe, etc. maybe I'll leave a fan on at all times). I've got a sour saison hooked up right now that I want to have a high carbonation level (3 vol or so). Fridge is set to 42, psi needs to be around 21 to get my 3 vol (I'm at 5,500ft). I have 16ft of bev seal ultra on there and the flow control (Intertap) turned almost all the way down.

At 25psi, it has a good bit of foam (expected at this carbonation) but seems more like 1.75 volumes. When I pulled some last night at 30 psi it seemed nicely effervescent.

Would a longer line and opening up the tap help here, or are those about the same thing? Either method is going to restrict the flow rate, right? Is using the faucet to throttle the flow going to knock out CO2 or anything?

Any help or tips are appreciated.

I think I'm on track now. A tower cooling fan may be in my future. I have a fan that comes on when the compressor is running to push air over the coils, and I get decent (but super slow) pours.