Lhbs

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

str1p3s

Reaction score
I've been brewing now for about 8 months, and I've only gotten my ingredients from one place. It's closing soon so I have to branch out. It's a bummer because it was the only place that was decently close to me. Anyway, the place that I went to, they generally just pointed you in the direction of their grain room and let you do everything yourself. For my first AG batch, I walked in and told the guy I was about to do my first AG batch and I asked if he had the grains I was looking for. He looked at my grain bill and said "Yep, should all be back there" and handed it back and went about his business.

I was expecting to go in and tell them what I needed and they would measure it out and mill it and I'd pay and then leave. Instead, I was in their grain room for at least 30 minutes, not knowing how to work anything and having to ask the guy to come in there and help me about 15 times.

Is this how most places operate? Does anyone else just go in and measure and mill their own grains and the employees trust you not to break or spill anything and be truthful about the quantities?

That's essentially how it's worked in the 3 different shops that I've been to, although the first time I went I asked for help and they were happy to show me how to use the mill and give me a quick tour of the grain room. Now that I know what I'm doing I'm really glad I can take care of it myself. A bit more efficient and I don't have anyone to blame but myself if I screw something up.

Is this how most places operate? Does anyone else just go in and measure and mill their own grains and the employees trust you not to break or spill anything and be truthful about the quantities?