Late season planting, advice requested.

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

SaltPig

Reaction score
So I have been growing a pair of hops for a few years, but forgot to label them so I only know that one is centennial and one is cascade.

Now that I am brewing, I want to make a more serious effort at this hop growing malarkey. I ordered 5 full plants from Great Lakes Hops (Cascade, Centennial, Nugget, Chinook, Northern Brewer). I also just built this:
1ibe3m.jpg

The idea is that the hops will provide privacy in the summer, yield a modest crop for brewing, and make my patio feel like a beer garden.
That bed is 12' x 4' and the trellis is about 12' tall. Will that bed be big enough to support 5 plants or should I find another place to plant a few? I was also thinking of running twine from the bed to the top spindles.

Any advice before I plant tomorrow?

Not big enough, not tall enough. What you have built will support about 2 plants, maybe 3 if you don't mind them getting mixed up, and they'll wish they could climb twice as high. It will still work but they'll be super bushy.

My only other advice is water water water. Don't drown the hops obviously, but let them take a good drink at least 2-3 times per week (if it doesn't rain much).

Don't expect much growth this year. Next year you'll have a monster crop.