Lack of fermentation

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

jeff17237

Reaction score
**Warning: beginner homebrewer**

I started brewing around 8 months ago and absolutely love it. I am currently on my fourth batch but am having a few problems.

My first two batches went as well as I could have planned. Brewing was as planned and the beer tasted great. The last two brews however have not been so successful. Last batch, brewing was fine but the fermentation was very weird. It began about 12 hours after yeast was added, fermented vigorously (bubbled all over the lid) for less than 24 and then just quit. FG was about what I expected but I let it sit for another 10 days before bottling (no secondary). When I finally got around to opening a bottle, the beer was incredibly flat but the taste wasn't awful.

So I decided to brew again last saturday. I use grain/extract kits from Midwest and follow the instructions to a T. Brewing went well (OG 1.070 - added 1 lb DME), hydrated yeast in water 10 minutes before mixing at 100F (as instructed on the yeast packet), aerated wort, added yeast and it has been sitting fermentation-less for almost 6 days now.

First two batches were done during winter and fermented at mid 60s (65-66F). The last two problem batches have been sitting at 70-72F. Is this possibly the problem? Is it too high of a temperature? I added the yeast at around 75-78F so I can't imagine that killed them especially after rehydration.

Some more specifics: Irish Red Ale kit from Midwest + 1 lb Briess Golden Light DME. Premium dry yeast (hydrated before added). The kit was received in February and immediately put in the fridge. It's been a little over two months. Plastic fermenter has good seal, no signs of fermentation whatsoever.