Knowing when fermentation is done

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

jayjay

Reaction score
Hi
I am new to homebrewing and my first batch is undergoing fermentation at the moment.

My question is: Is fermentation still going strong as long as there is bubbles comming out of the airlock.

I know that i can't tell if the fermentation is done when there is no longer comming bubbles out, however is it possible to decide whether its still going?

Cheers

i believe someone else would say, it's when your hydrometer doesn't change for a couple days.....(for me i use gluco and keg at 1.000 :))

Hi
I am new to homebrewing and my first batch is undergoing fermentation at the moment.

My question is: Is fermentation still going strong as long as there is bubbles comming out of the airlock.

I know that i can't tell if the fermentation is done when there is no longer comming bubbles out, however is it possible to decide whether its still going?

Cheers

Bubbles in the airlock are for your entertainment, identical readings on your hydrometer a couple days apart tell when the beer is done fermenting. I would wait at least 10 days for the first sample.

Hmm okay - thing is that the hydrometer that i got with the package has broken

I am brewing with muntons extract (irish stout) and in the recipe it says that it will probably be done fermenting after 4-6 days, which seems like a short time to me

LOL, they tend to get lonely....they should have sent them in a pair! :D (there's a thread for the departed...)

4-6 days sounds about right to me......

And, i didn't say Welcome!