Kit vs Consensus

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

colledge

Reaction score
Hi,

I about to do my 3rd batch with a True Brew California Common.

Before I started brewing, I watched a DVD that taught to boil in 3 gallons and cool and add cool water, but instruction say to boil in 1.5 gallons and cool just by adding cool water. Is there really a difference?

I would think that it would be better to boil in a larger volume, but wonder why the instructions would say to do this. It is already pretty much known not to follow them on fermenting, but I just wonder why kit instructions would give dumb advice.

Hi,

I about to do my 3rd batch with a True Brew California Common.

Before I started brewing, I watched a DVD that taught to boil in 3 gallons and cool and add cool water, but instruction say to boil in 1.5 gallons and cool just by adding cool water. Is there really a difference?

I would think that it would be better to boil in a larger volume, but wonder why the instructions would say to do this. It is already pretty much known not to follow them on fermenting, but I just wonder why kit instructions would give dumb advice.

Most people don't have big pots with strong burners, I think. Almost anybody can boil 1.5 gallons, but few stoves can easily boil 3+ gallons. Also, it's much easier to cool 1.5 gallons of wort by adding 3.5 gallons of ice cold water, then trying to cool 3+ gallons of wort (which needs an ice bath).

In general, boiling as much as you can tends to make better beer. If you can boil and chill 3+ gallons of wort, then you should do that.

+1 boiling as much as you can. I also am new and have only done 5 brews but i can tell the difference between the 1.5 gal. to the 3 gal. then onto the full boil on my last. good luck.:rockin: