Keggle, dip tube, and wort chilling - please help

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

A1337sti

Reaction score
Howdy!

So I feel like i'm still very new to home brewing. I've been doing the mr beer kits for a while now (3 years?) , and well .. I didn't buy a Keggle to keep using their kits.

I've made 1 batch (extract) where all my ingredients came from my local home brew store and its been by far the best tasting batch.

My awesome parents got me a 15.5 Gallon Keggle with a stainless steel 1/2" threaded spigot valve thing. (sorry bad with the correct terms) I've also got a 1/2" nipple for 1/2 hose

I noticed that i would have to title my Keg pretty far to get all the wort out, so i also bought this setup :

http://www.breworganic.com/115stainlesssteelfalsebottomforconvertedkegswflareddiptube.aspx

which i think was made for a different keg. the down pipe fits , but just barely,I think you would have to measure the clearance in human hairs.. it drains incredibly slow ... so i have the dip tube installed with a bit of a tilt to the side. and the screen won't physically fit in, i have an angle grider and i plan on cutting 2 slots on the top lip so i can get the screen in physically.

the Mr beer method has you doing a partial boil, and pouring your boiled wort into their fermenter that already has 1 gallon of cold water. this keeps you from going above their plastic fermentors max temp of 140 F. Also their 3 gallon fermentor fits perfectly into my sink where i can do a water/ice bath to get the temps down to 68 before pitching the yeast.