Kegging and then into bottles

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

cjdj

Reaction score
I am pretty new to this kegging, but I have a few questions that I have been wondering about.

I have 5 gallon kegs and want to naturally carbonate my beer in the kegs, but on the same note I would like to have a 12 pack or so of the beer that I just made for later dates.

My thoughts are, and correct me if I am wrong, I am going to use a beer gun to fill the bottles and then since the beer is already cold I would like to set the 12 pack aside in my basement. I am just not sure if the beer will last for up to a year let alone be ok when transitioning from the cold keg and back to a 60-70 degree environment?

I am naturally carbonating due to lack of CO2 hook ups and to have a large variety of beers for my parties.

Any input would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks in advance.

There's a great thread on this. Do a search for "we don't need no stinkin beergun"

it really is the way to go! It's easy, cheap, and the beers last just as long if you cap on foam. Check it out!

It's actually a sticky on this forum. Strangely stickies seem easier to miss than normal threads.

So you have a CO2 system but just not enough connectors so you want to naturally carb first then bottle using CO2 to push and a beer gun to fill correct? If so I don’t see an issue just letting it carb then chill it for a few days release the extra pressure at botteling to the recommended level for the beer gun and bottle. I force carb all my beers then level out the keg and then use my beer gun to fill a few bottles and have had bottles sit for a year or more in room temp and chilled with no issues.