Keg Carbing..need advice/help

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

dammBrewer

Supporting Member
HBT Supporter
Reaction score
I have a question about keg carbing and could use your quick opinions here, thanks in advance. First, a little backstory....sorry. :D

I have been kegging my homebrew for a few years now, never had this issue before. But, I made a brew, crashed it, cleared it, and kegged it. Then put 5 psi Co2 on it for a week or so at room temp. Then put it in a chest keezer just to keep it chilled. Well, the temp probe fell off the keg "froze" not solid, but close. I thawed the keg at room temp for 2 days and all was back to "normal".

Problem now, and my question is, why can't I get this thing to carbonate? I have it in my keezer, 44ish degrees, sitting on Co2 just like the other 3 kegs in there with it. But this one won't carbonate. I have turned the valves off on the other 3 and cranked this one up to 25 psi for 3 days (honestly expected over carbing at that point). But when I poured a pint last night, nothing. Very little head, thin body, and no mouthfeel. Good taste but nothing past that. I have checked for gas leaks, none found. The tank itself isn't loosing pressure (still at 750ish) so no regulator leak. All the other beers in there were treated very close to the same way when they were "tapped". Is it possible that when the keg "froze" that the left over proteins or whatever is needed went away and the Co2 can't grab onto enough to carb the beer? Seems odd to me but yet it seems to be the only thing that is different than "normal".

Anyone else ever experience this? Thanks in advance everyone. :tank: