just getting started in Cincy.

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
I am just getting started. I live north of Cincinnati in Sharonville. I figured I would start gathering supplies over the next month while I build my keezer, mt and fermentation fridge. I am going to convert a 12 or so cf chest freezer for the keezer and a for the fermentation fridge I am goign to look for an older 50s style. for my mash tun I am converting an old 50s metal coleman cooler (do you see a trend here?) and everything is goign to be painted flat hotrod black with gloss black pinstriping and chrome accents. maybe i should start with brewing my first batch but from the research i have done I feel that having these started or ready before brewing could be of great benefit. obviously I am goint to finish the fermentation chamber first as I will need it first but I am not brewing until I have everything I need. Ideally I will start with a few 1/4 kegs i have laying around and convert them to keggles. most of my setup is going to be built by me. part of the fun for me is doing it this way. now...having said all that, if you managed to get this far through my post, Is there a huge difference in fermenting in pails vs glass carboys? I can get food grade plastic pails for free that had food items in them. would those be acceptable? obviously I have to use a food grade acceptable solder when doing my spigots on the keggle but are there any other materials I should steer clear of that are not acceptable or cannot be sterilized? thanks for reading my long first post and I welcome any comments.