Jalapeno IPA recipe - advice/guidance welcome!

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

JP2013

Reaction score
Hello everybody!

This is my first post here, and I can already tell that I will be spending A LOT of time here as I embark upon my home brewing adventures!

I have been thinking up a Jalapeno IPA recipe, but would love any input advice you may have. I'm still new to home brewing, and while I consider myself well read and knowledgeable, I'm a rookie compared to many of you. You're advice is vital to my success as I continue to mature my craft.

As of right now, my recipe is as follows:

---Jalapeno IPA---

WORT:
Briess Victory Grain 1lb
Briess DME Golden Light 1lb
Jalapeno slices (seedless) 1lb 5 mins

HOP ADDITIONS:
Liberty (FWH) 1oz (AA 3%-5%) 60 min boil
NZ Green Bullet (Bittering) 1oz (AA 11%-14%) 45 min boil
Willamette (Flavoring) 1oz (AA 4%-6%) 30 min boil
Simcoe (Finishing) 1oz (12%-14%) 5 min boil

DRY HOPPING:
Liberty 1oz 7-14 days
Jalapeno slices (seedless) 1lb 7-14 days

I realize that the ingredients may not be traditional, but I feel that the end result will be what I am looking for - an earthy, spicey, jalapeno-y ipa. Something that goes down smooth, but packs a punch.

Still unsure of what yeast I want to use..

Thoughts and suggestions?

Thanks ahead of time,
James

That is a pretty risky way to use peppers.

A good rule of thumb for spices is to added a small amount to secondary in a bag. Taste every day and pull them as soon as you get to the level of flavor your want. You can always add more, but once you make hotsauce, there is no going back.