Jalapeno and lemon zest

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

robbyice

Reaction score
I have a recipe in the pipeline that will need both jalapenos and lemon zest. almost all of the articles I read about putting chiles in beer have recommendations to add the chiles and lemon both into the secondary.

the problem I have is that I never ever use a secondary. does anyone have any experience adding jalapenos to the boil? I was thinking about 3 jalapenos with 3 oz of lemon zest in a hop spider bag with maybe 10 minutes remaining in the boil.

Habanero sculpin is far far hotter than I want to go with his one. I want a subdued heat with nice lemon nose and taste.

anyone got any experience here. im new to both chiles and lemon.

ps. I will also be using lemon pepper in this one... any tips there?

No experience, but why not just toss them into primary after the fermentation is over, that's what I do when I dry hop b/c I don't use a secondary

I made a mexican hot chocolate stout with ancho chilies and was fine tossing them into the primary. Its not like youre adding several pounds of berries or something

No experience, but why not just toss them into primary after the fermentation is over, that's what I do when I dry hop b/c I don't use a secondary
sounds great. so I just need to microwave them to kill any bugs and them throw them right in there... how long do you recommend "dry hopping" the chiles? 4-5 days?

sounds great. so I just need to microwave them to kill any bugs and them throw them right in there... how long do you recommend "dry hopping" the chiles? 4-5 days?

Now that I'm not sure, I would say let taste be your guide, you may consider soaking them in vodka instead of microwaving them, I would think that would give them a cooked taste..