iSpindle Concentrators, Repeaters, Bridges, Hubs

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk:

wd16261

Well-Known Member
Joined
Aug 5, 2019
Messages
130
Reaction score
28
Location
Belgium
I'm just doing some test so will try it now and keep you informed.
 

wd16261

Well-Known Member
Joined
Aug 5, 2019
Messages
130
Reaction score
28
Location
Belgium
@ZeSlammy I need to calibrate 3 ispindels and my idea is to use the ispinHub to help me with this.
I did some test yesterday (but with the preivous version) and I could let the 3 ispindels send their information to the ispinhub easily.
But once I have tried to donwload one of the csv files it started to block everything. It looks like the ispinHub did no longer accepted the information that was send by the ispindels after the failed downloads.
I will try to do these tests again with this latest version.

Another remark that I have already mentioned is the colors that you have used. For me it is impossible to read the small text in the blue color (the ip
address) so I allways need to use my smartphone to zoom in or check the Serial Monitor in the Arduino IDE to find the ip address. :(

20211216_112222_.jpg
 
Last edited:

wd16261

Well-Known Member
Joined
Aug 5, 2019
Messages
130
Reaction score
28
Location
Belgium
OK the latest version looks much better. I can not now open the csv files or save them locally. Good job :thumbsup:
Just noticed a small issue when you delete all the csv files then you receive the following getJSON error at the home page:

delete csv files.JPG


Not that big issue because as soon as a new file is created this message is gone.
I configured push2BF also but I think that I have to wait for 15 min before the first info will arrive at BF? --> confirmed it works! :ban:
 
Last edited:

wd16261

Well-Known Member
Joined
Aug 5, 2019
Messages
130
Reaction score
28
Location
Belgium
I don't know if it is easy to do but can the SSID of the AP in the ispinHub be changed? For testing I had two versions next to each other but the ispindles were sending the information from time to time to the wrong ispinHub because they use the same SSID.
 
OP
OP
ZeSlammy

ZeSlammy

Well-Known Member
Joined
Mar 27, 2020
Messages
135
Reaction score
97
Location
Besançon, France
I don't know if it is easy to do but can the SSID of the AP in the ispinHub be changed? For testing I had two versions next to each other but the ispindles were sending the information from time to time to the wrong ispinHub because they use the same SSID.
I've seen this one. I'll see what I can do.
 

korev

Active Member
Joined
Sep 27, 2021
Messages
37
Reaction score
12
Location
Sydney, Australia
@ZeSlammy Good work I have successfully connected to Brewfather from my test iSpindel
2021-12-17_12-40-06.png

I have also been testing to Brewfather and recompiling to the latest version to get the time synced to AET plus daylight saving for Sydney time see below
1639705310804.png

Please could you add a way to configure to local time zones from the UI
And could the Brewfather key and push frequency be stored somewhere that is not overwritten by a new compiled version?

Cheers
 

korev

Active Member
Joined
Sep 27, 2021
Messages
37
Reaction score
12
Location
Sydney, Australia
So I have been logging for a while and it all looked OK as below
1639710057385.png

BUT when I went to download the csv file - it had stopped for some reason

2021-12-17T00:21:16Z,WHITE_iSpindel,80.8965,23.88,0.0052,28.9766,100.0,-37.0,C,
2021-12-17T00:50:13Z,WHITE_iSpindel,88.7573,24.81,0.0052,32.9417,100.0,-50.0,C,
2021-12-17T01:20:27Z,WHITE_iSpindel,86.7484,24.06,0.0052,31.9320,100.0,-41.0,C,
2021-12-17T12:27:47Z,WHITE_iSpindel,84.6924,23.44,0.0052,30.8961,100.0,-35.0,C,
2021-12-17T12:39:21Z,WHITE_iSpindel,69.9225,23.88,3.8999,23.3772,100.0,-47.0,C,
2021-12-17T12:41:00Z,WHITE_iSpindel,84.0396,24.88,4.0824,30.5667,100.0,-42.0,C,
2021-12-17T12:42:39Z,WHITE_iSpindel,84.0513,24.63,4.0980,30.5726,100.0,-43.0,C,
2021-12-17T12:44:17Z,WHITE_iSpindel,84.0699,24.31,4.0980,30.5819,100.0,-42.0,C,
2021-12-17T12:45:56Z,WHITE_iSpindel,84.0609,24.13,4.0980,30.5774,100.0,-41.0,C,
2021-12-17T12:47:35Z,WHITE_iSpindel,84.0645,23.88,4.0980,30.5792,100.0,-39.0,C,
2021-12-17T12:49:14Z,WHITE_iSpindel,84.0664,23.75,4.0980,30.5802,100.0,-3HTTP/1.1 404 Not Found
Content-Length: 15
Content-Type: text/plain
Access-Control-Allow-Origin: *
Connection: close
Accept-Ranges: none

File Not Found.
?
 

wd16261

Well-Known Member
Joined
Aug 5, 2019
Messages
130
Reaction score
28
Location
Belgium
Yes I've also noticed this yesterday and for me the information on the display is still up to date the same as in BF. This is an example of my csv file with the same kind of text at the end:

2021-12-16T19:42:31Z,iSpindel003,48.7911,23.38,4.0198,10.9864,20.0,-42.0,C,
2021-12-16T19:42:52Z,iSpindel003,48.7804,23.44,4.0250,10.9816,20.0,-42.0,C,
2021-12-16T19:43:13Z,iSpindel003,48.7752,23.31,4.0146,10.9792,20.0,-41.0,C,
2021-12-16T19:43:34Z,iSpindel003,48.7736,23.44,4.0250,10.9785,20.0,-40.0,C,
2021-12-16T19:43:55Z,iSpindel003,48.7776,23.31,4.0250,10.9803,20.0,-40.0,C,
2021-12-16T19:44:16Z,iSpindel003,48.7757,23.38,4.0250,10.9794,20.0,-40.0,C,
2021-12-16T19:44:37Z,iSpindel003,48.7966,23.31,4.0198,10.9889,20.0,-41.0,C,
2021-12-16T19:44:58Z,iSpindel003,48.7951,23.44,4.0250,10.9882,20.0,-48.0,C,
2021-12-16T19:45:19Z,iSpindel003,48.7872,23.38,4.0250,10.9846,20.0,-38.0,C,
2021-12-16T19:45:40Z,iSpindel003,48.7845,23.38,4.0250,10.9834,20.0,-41.0,C,
2021-12-16T19:46:01Z,iSpindel003,48.7846,23.31,4.0250,10.9835,20.0,-38.0,C,
2021-12-16T19:46:22Z,iSpindel003,48.7903HTTP/1.1 404 Not Found
Content-Length: 15

Content-Type: text/plain
Access-Control-Allow-Origin: *
Connection: close
Accept-Ranges: none


File Not Found.

After deleting the csv file it starts logging again for a while but the strange text appears again and then it stops logging again.
 

korev

Active Member
Joined
Sep 27, 2021
Messages
37
Reaction score
12
Location
Sydney, Australia
I have made a modified 128 * 128 screen layout using at the top the Orbitron font. I wanted to get, what I consider to be, the key information as large as possible on the small screen.

I changed the Voltage to a V that changes colour to show the status -similar to the signal strength indication. I would be interested in what others think that the trigger setting value should be, I have gone with 3.8V based on experience with my Panasonic batteries.

if(voltage > 3.8) {tft.setTextColor(TFT_GREEN,TFT_BLACK);}
if(voltage < 3.8) {tft.setTextColor(TFT_ORANGE,TFT_BLACK);}

Huge thanks to @ZeSlammy for making all of this possible.
Cheers
 

Attachments

  • IMG_7429.jpg
    IMG_7429.jpg
    1.6 MB · Views: 8
OP
OP
ZeSlammy

ZeSlammy

Well-Known Member
Joined
Mar 27, 2020
Messages
135
Reaction score
97
Location
Besançon, France
I might just get rid of the file download all together :(
I'm banging my head on the wall for this one to find a correct way to do it. Might be that there just isn't enough room on the ESP8266 to handle all this.

Anyway I got my to do list
  • BrewPiless
  • Change colors (ultimately allow people to make their own screens without recompiling)
  • Handle error on "No Json file"
  • Handle config to be persistent in between flashes
  • Handle TimeZones
  • Maybe handle file downloading
 

wd16261

Well-Known Member
Joined
Aug 5, 2019
Messages
130
Reaction score
28
Location
Belgium
I don't think that it is a space issue because yesterday I had 3 ispindels reporting to my ispinHub and it worked fine:
1639728782514.png

But what I've noticed is the number of lines is must bigger then the lines I can see when I open the csv file, this is what I have for iSpindel003.csv:

2021-12-16T19:57:34Z,iSpindel003,48.7440,23.38,4.0250,10.9651,20.0,-44.0,C,
2021-12-16T19:57:55Z,iSpindel003,48.7799,23.44,4.0198,10.9813,20.0,-46.0,C,
2021-12-16T19:58:16Z,iSpindel003,48.7707,23.44,4.0250,10.9772,20.0,-42.0,C,
2021-12-16T19:58:37Z,iSpindel003,48.7640,23.44,4.0250,10.9741,20.0,-39.0,C,
2021-12-16T19:58:58Z,iSpindel003,48.7075,23.44,4.0250,10.9486,20.0,-39.0,C,
2021-12-16T19:59:19Z,iSpindel003,48.7691,23.50,4.0198,10.9764,20.0,-44.0,C,
2021-12-16T19:59:40Z,iSpindel003,48.7684,23.38,4.0250,10.9761,20.0,-40.0,C,
2021-12-16T20:00:01Z,iSpindel003,48.7985,23.44,4.0198,10.9898,20.0,-45.0,C,
2021-12-16T20:00:22Z,iSpindel003,48.7596,23.44,4.0198,10.9722,20.0,-42.0,C,
2021-12-16T20:00:42Z,iSpindel003,48.7807,23.44,4.0198,10.9817,20.0,-43.0,C,
2021-12-16T20:01:03Z,iSpindel003,48.7763,23.44,4.0146,10.9797,20.0,-44.0,C,
2021-12-16T20:01:24Z,iSpindel003,48.777HTTP/1.1 404 Not Found
Content-Length: 15
Content-Type: text/plain
Access-Control-Allow-Origin: *
Connection: close
Accept-Ranges: none

File Not Found.


I personaly find this feature very interesting especialy for calibration so I would be disapointed if you get rid of it, but maybe focus on other features first ;)
 

korev

Active Member
Joined
Sep 27, 2021
Messages
37
Reaction score
12
Location
Sydney, Australia
Your todo list looks pretty good. I was wondering if the logging problem could be a function of what is set in the platformio
ie eagle.flash.4m3m.ld perhaps 4m2m.ld?

My assumption is, and I may be wrong, is that iSpindHub, would be able to forward to both Brewfather and BrewPiLess?

Cheers
 
OP
OP
ZeSlammy

ZeSlammy

Well-Known Member
Joined
Mar 27, 2020
Messages
135
Reaction score
97
Location
Besançon, France
When I say "space issue", I mean "space to handle the file download". But yes, it is an interesting feature. I put it on the back burner.
 
OP
OP
ZeSlammy

ZeSlammy

Well-Known Member
Joined
Mar 27, 2020
Messages
135
Reaction score
97
Location
Besançon, France
Your todo list looks pretty good. I was wondering if the logging problem could be a function of what is set in the platformio
ie eagle.flash.4m3m.ld perhaps 4m2m.ld?
It's not a logging issue, it's more a "generate a download" issue

My assumption is, and I may be wrong, is that iSpindHub, would be able to forward to both Brewfather and BrewPiLess?
Yes. The idea is to push to all targets for which we have a configuration.
 

wd16261

Well-Known Member
Joined
Aug 5, 2019
Messages
130
Reaction score
28
Location
Belgium
When I say "space issue", I mean "space to handle the file download". But yes, it is an interesting feature. I put it on the back burner.
Yes you are probably right because its always limited to about 13 a 15 lines. See all the examples above.
And thanks to keep it on the list 👍
 

wd16261

Well-Known Member
Joined
Aug 5, 2019
Messages
130
Reaction score
28
Location
Belgium
Can you try and connect with cables and not directly as a shield ?
D4 on shield to D8 on Wemos
3V on shield to 3.3V on Wemos
D5 to D5
D7 (the one between D6 and D8 flagged D4) to D7 on Wemos
D3 to D3 on Wemos
RST to D2 on Wemos
G to G on Wemos

@ZeSlammy I just received some TFT 1.4 (green tab version) together with some D1 mini and I would like to plug the screens directly onto the D1 (like a shield) instead of using wires.
But now I have noticed in this topic that it does not work this way or you've never tested it?
Is there a way to get this working?
I would like to put the iSpinhub into a small box but the D1 mini does not have any holes to screw it on to something. It would be much easier when it is plugged on the screen because in the 1.4 TFT I do have four holes to screw it into a small box.
In the first post of this topic there is a picture where it looks like the D1 mini is directly plugged onto the TFT screen and it is working but when I tried this I only have a blanc screen but the webserver works fine.

20211227_204117_.jpg
 

DuncB

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jun 5, 2019
Messages
2,203
Reaction score
1,237
Location
Paremata New Zealand
@korev
The refonting you did is it possible to do this on the 2.0 TFT?

How do I go about doing the change, currently the output only occupies the top third of the display so I could have a bigger font or even 2 spindels displaying at once.
 

korev

Active Member
Joined
Sep 27, 2021
Messages
37
Reaction score
12
Location
Sydney, Australia
@DuncB Yes I think so as I have played about with formatting a 1.8 screen for a weather station using much bigger fonts. I have also further refined my 1.4 screen display using the larger fonts. I can send you the files if you like. pm me your email.
Cheers
 

wd16261

Well-Known Member
Joined
Aug 5, 2019
Messages
130
Reaction score
28
Location
Belgium
@korev I don't think that its just the blacklight?
When I use it with wires then it works perfectly but as a shield some of the connections are not correct.
In the table below I tried to show the differences:

D1 shield differences.JPG


A solution could be cutting the pins D4 and RST on the shield and then use 2 wires to connect them to the pins D8 and D2 on the wemos.
But the shields was made to be plugged in directly so it would been cleaner if the correct pins were used in the program?
I did a quick look in the source files and maybe its just adding an additional screen version?

On the shield I also noticed that I could change the functions of the pins but I can not assign RST tor D2.

20211228_080048_.jpg
 

Attachments

  • wirering.JPG
    wirering.JPG
    38.2 KB · Views: 10
Last edited:
OP
OP
ZeSlammy

ZeSlammy

Well-Known Member
Joined
Mar 27, 2020
Messages
135
Reaction score
97
Location
Besançon, France
@DuncB Yes I think so as I have played about with formatting a 1.8 screen for a weather station using much bigger fonts. I have also further refined my 1.4 screen display using the larger fonts. I can send you the files if you like. pm me your email.
Cheers
I'm interested, obviously :)

@wd16261 : I will try and compile a version to be plugged in (might just be a change in the .ini file). Should be able to do it today.
 

wd16261

Well-Known Member
Joined
Aug 5, 2019
Messages
130
Reaction score
28
Location
Belgium
Great news! I've tested the new version with the Green Tab (D1 plugged directly) and it also works now. :thumbsup:

20211228_115602_.jpg
 

DaveS

Active Member
Joined
Jun 21, 2019
Messages
36
Reaction score
2
Location
South Africa
@ZeSlammy Cheers for adding brewpiless as a target,have been off the board for a while. :)

Could be me but when installing the plugged in version using brewflasher,the 2nd file is not sent to the D1 mini,I assume this is the littlefs file?
Resulting in a hello world in my browser when going to it IP address.
The "wired" versions still working well.
Will use pyflasher in the meantime.
Cheers
 
OP
OP
ZeSlammy

ZeSlammy

Well-Known Member
Joined
Mar 27, 2020
Messages
135
Reaction score
97
Location
Besançon, France
Could be me but when installing the plugged in version using brewflasher,the 2nd file is not sent to the D1 mini,I assume this is the littlefs file?
Resulting in a hello world in my browser when going to it IP address.
The "wired" versions still working well.
Will use pyflasher in the meantime.
Cheers
It's not you, it's me (dreading words to hear) :)
I forgot to set the address where to upload from BrewFlasher.
Should work now.
 

wd16261

Well-Known Member
Joined
Aug 5, 2019
Messages
130
Reaction score
28
Location
Belgium
Quick Update :
- Managed to have the "Change the name of the SSID" done : both the setting field is up and it works
- Working on the TimeZone selection
- Working on screen optimisation

Happy New Year folks

Happy New Year to you too and thanks for the quick change I will try it later today.
 
Last edited:

korev

Active Member
Joined
Sep 27, 2021
Messages
37
Reaction score
12
Location
Sydney, Australia
Inspired by ZeSlammy I am working on a colourful BPL-Display using a 2.8" ILI9341 TFT, and an 8266, which uses the MQTT facility of BPL, thus not interfering with BPL sending to Brewfather.
My request of @ZeSlammy is please could you adapt iSpindHub to provide a MQTT reporting/publishing function so that iSpindel data could be forwarded not only to Brewfather but also via MQTT.
Thanks
 

wd16261

Well-Known Member
Joined
Aug 5, 2019
Messages
130
Reaction score
28
Location
Belgium
I'm unable to install the latest version for the 1.7" display.
I tried the new Brewflasher webversion and also the standalone version but both are stuck during the writing step.
With the webversion I get this message:

1642673396945.png


And with the standalone version it stops at this step:

1642673670692.png


Yesterday I could upload the previous version with both Webversion and standalone version without any problem.
 

Attachments

  • 1642673622362.png
    1642673622362.png
    23.9 KB · Views: 1
Top